Weekly Edit

image

At the suggestion of a friend, I’m linking up with all the other cool cats on the Internet.

Gifts from the Internet

It’s wedding season! We have a wedding this weekend and next and my own wedding anniversary is right around the corner, so weddings and marriage and all good things that follow have been on the mind.

1. The introvert in me loves the idea of a self-designed marriage retreat. I’m in love with this whole concept of crashing at a monastery for the weekend with good marriage literature. Also, one of my faves posted this marriage exercise and I not so secretly wish she would just provide materials for a whole self-directed marriage retreat.

2. Sometimes, I get overwhelmed by all the devotions you can do as a Catholic. Particularly when it comes to novenas. Should I just always be in the midst of a novena? I don’t know. But I think St. Josemaria Escriva’s novena for a happy and faithful marriage would be perfect to pray yearly approaching our anniversary.

3. This. I don’t actually remember it being too bad of a problem at our wedding. Overwhelmingly, it was a joyous and fun day and when we got in the escape car, we high fived and said, “That was an awesome wedding!” But there were certain dumb, petty things, that to this day if I dwell on too long, I want to claw my eyes out. Saint I am not. Tell me I’m not the only one.

Yums!

4. I always overestimate how much rice to cook, but it’s actually not a problem, because inauthentic fried rice happens to be one of my favorite things to make and eat. I really overestimated rice amounts this week so we had it twice with bacon, leftover asian broccoli slaw, bell peppers, basil, and red onion.

5. My husband’s been on a matcha kick (he even has a legit matcha whisk) but I’m not complaining because it’s as delicious as it is pretty.

6. More luxurious breakfasts were to be had this week including eggs en cocotte with asparagus, shallots, and gooood goat cheese. Although I pretty much drowned the eggs because a spoon of heavy cream registered in my head as half a cup.

et cetera

7. I’m a bad shopper and don’t ask for help even when I desperately need it but not this week. I marched into Sephora and told the first sales girl I saw that I suck at makeup (choosing it and putting it on) and would she please just walk me through the whole process like the mothers of most thirteen year old’s do. And she did and she was super gracious about the babe wriggling on my lap as she taught me how to fill in my eyebrows without making me look like cartoon character. It felt like a defining moment in my life.

……………

Happy Feast of St. Augustine of Canterbury

 

Weekly Edit

8 thoughts on “Weekly Edit

  1. I adore your ideas about a marriage retreat! Our 30th anniversary is coming up in August, and there’s a monastary within driving distance. Our youngest is a very responsible 17yo, so I may just surprise my husband with a weekend retreat! This post has been such a blessing for me!! And I’m incredibly impressed by your gutsiness at Sephora. I’m too intimidated to go in. I had my makeup “done” in preparation for my eldest son’s wedding, and bought $200 worth of makeup that will probably last until I die, but I still rarely wear anything but chapstick. I take really good care of my skin with Nerium night cream, so I don’t look all that much different with or without makeup (which I guess is a good thing since I’m 49 – LOL!) But I’ve always wanted to explore Sephora 🙂

    Like

    1. That would be a beautiful way to celebrate your 30th! ❤ Oh gosh, I know all about feeling too intimidated to go into Sephora or a whole lot of other places. But I have to remind myself that it's sales people's job to help you out. Plus, having a cute baby as a talking point is good for my introverted soul haha! Anyway, I think skincare is so much more important than makeup.

      Like

  2. I think I need to do the same thing at a place like Sephora. I use so little makeup and probably don’t even apply it right. My daughter had to wear makeup for a school play and I was like, “Have the other people there show you how to put it on, I don’t even know how to apply foundation!”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Alexandra says:

    I love the idea of saying St. Josemaria Escriva’s novena yearly approaching our wedding anniversary ! I think we will be doing that as well! 🙂

    Ah, you are an inspiration. I really should go to Sephora and do the same! Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Margaret says:

    Have you read Augustine Came to Kent? It’s a delightful little read about Augustine of Canterbury. We have done guided marriage retreats that left much to be desired (read: I was ready to fake labor at 37 weeks to bail early it was so bad). We go for the DIY option, and supplement with going on scheduled, personal retreats every other year- we switch off. Those personal retreats always bear fruit in our marriage, so I feel like it’s an important component.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh! I hadn’t heard of that! Thanks for the recommendation. Also, yes to scheduled, personal retreats. The best retreat I’ve ever been on was an Opus Dei silent retreat and I think I’m due for another one soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

