Weekly Edit: 7.22

weekly edit july twenty-second

Linking up and shaking things up a bit. No yums this week. Not because there weren’t any because there definitely were, but because I was encouraged to actually write recipes out and post them. So next week you’ll get an earful as I praise the merits of juicy roasted birds and sundry.

Gifts from the Internet

Also, no theme with the links this week or maybe we could call it wild card.

1. Erin had two posts this week that I hit the bookmark button on. I’m always looking to be challenged in becoming more environmentally conscious and she always delivers the most well thought out ways to do so. Her post on water reminded me of all the ways I waste it.

2. Then she posted on how to make maraschino cherries. We spend far too much on the store-bought luxardo kind for Friday night cocktails, so its is on my to-do list before our current jar runs out.

3. Joy always has the best Sunday links. (I can’t get this one on motherhood, marriage, and writing out of my head from a few weeks ago.) But last week’s round up of links caught my attention mainly from the gorgeous paper flowers she made. A friend of mine gifted us fresh flowers as part of a whole host of housewarming things and they really beautified our mantle piece. I don’t think I can justify fresh flowers every week, so seeing stunning paper ones is giving me lots of ideas.

4. Speaking of parenthood, marriage, and creative ambitions, Christy guest posted over on Carrots for Michaelmas on how marriage fuels the creative life. And I think her examples are good and true and beautiful. It makes perfect theological sense that Christian marriage, in particular, as its supposed to imitate the richly creative love of the Trinity should encourage a collaborative creative life between spouses. But the examples provided in the post center on marriages in which only one of the spouses is the creative and the other is a source of practical support and inspiration. What if both a husband and a wife have their own serious creative ambitions? When a housekeeper or a nanny isn’t an option and financial freedom isn’t within reach, the practical burdens must be shouldered and I think dividing them up equally is easier said than done. Creatives are frequently attracted to one another which is a good thing but I think when each has their own projects and goals, the relationship can easily become mired in selfishness and resentment. Thoughts? I want to hear them.

Et cetera

5. Today is my dad’s birthday. He instilled in me a love for reading, hiking, traveling, and black forest cherry cake. I frequently had dad and daughter dates for my birthday. They were always cultural: the symphony, the museum of fine arts, and that one time we almost made it to the ballet but got rained out by a hurricane…Now we do the same but with some pint-sized friends tagging along.

6. I keep saying I’m going to delete our Netflix account but then I keep hitting play on reruns of Parks and Rec…However, I started this film while I was nursing the babe a few days ago and then I couldn’t turn it off. It’s beautiful and I highly recommend it and I’m ugly-crying just watching the trailer again.

7. Last week, I voiced my fretful concerns over baby led weaning. So I talked to my mom about it and she gave me some helpful advice because that’s what mom’s are for. Now, we’re doing what I’m calling “minimal effort spoon feeding”. I basically make one very easy soft food per day and feed it to him all day. So far we’ve done yogurt and mashed avocado whipped together with a fork, sweet potato zapped in the microwave, and banana mashed up with a little bit of water. It’s just as messy since I only slightly spoon feed him and otherwise let him lick the spoon/bathe his face with food at his leisure. Most importantly, I’m not filled with anxiety over it.

It’s the feast of St. Mary Magdalene which is new and quite exciting!

Weekly Edit: 7.22

2 thoughts on “Weekly Edit: 7.22

  1. Margaret says:

    My grandma had an illustrated print of this poem, which my mom eventually inherited, and I later memorized. I usually recite it to myself in the store when I’m considering flowers and our super tight budget:

    If of thy mortal goods thou art bereft
    And from thy slender store
    Two loaves alone to thee are left,
    Sell one, and with the dole,
    Buy hyacinths to feed thy soul.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

