Checking in

Processed with VSCO

After many long, loooong nights of painting and podcasting, Pax Paper is open! I am so grateful for the support and excitement you have all shown about it. There are only prints listed in the shop now but in the coming weeks I’ll be adding greeting cards, so be sure to check back!

I have several blog post drafts that are in various states of completion, but for now I’m just going to leave some links that are worth the click.

-Podcasts really are where it’s at when it’s 2am and you are the type to jump at every little sound. It feels like you’re surrounded by these wonderfully empathetic and edifying friends. At least the On Being podcast does which is what has been endlessly streaming from my speakers from about 9pm onwards every night. My favorites thus far: Jean Vanier, Mary Catherine Bateson, Jaroslav Pelikan, Marilyn Robinson and Marcel Gleiser, John O’Donohue, Ira Byock, and Stuart Brown. Not every one of them is created equal though. My husband says Joanna Macy’s translations of Rilke almost ruined Rilke’s poetry for him. Reading the amazon reviews of her translation seems to be in keeping with that (“Not a translation, but an ideological savaging of Rilke“…all the crying-laughing-weeping emojis), so proceed with caution 😉

I’m always taking suggestions for new ones so if there’s a podcast you just can’t live without, let me know!

-Melinda Selmys is writing a book on NFP and I couldn’t be more excited. Because natural family planning, while yes we’re convinced is worth it, is no walk in the park.  Melinda Selmys has this rare ability to combine compassion with honesty with intelligence. The comments on her post were telling for just how needed is a book written from such a perspective.

-I have no clue what we’re going to do about school for our children when the time comes. All the schools I love are pricey and I’m not quite sure I have the temperament for homeschooling. We shall see. Simcha’s post on sending the kids to school was short and sweet and encouraging for whatever we discern is best for our family.

-This pizza dough was divine and easy! If I didn’t have to crank up the oven to 500 degrees, we’d have pizza tri-weekly. We did some fun flavor combinations: kale, honey whipped ricotta, roasted tomato and then roasted beet, broccoli, bacon, and I wish could say burrata for the alliteration but it was ricotta again. Yums!

Happy Feast of St. Clare of Montefalco!

Checking in

Leave a Reply

