Reading, Eating, Et Cetera


Linking up with Kelly for the first time in forever!

Reading

1. A lot of Britishy things. First, The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro which I basically read because I’ve been wanting to watch the Merchant Ivory dramatization with Anthony Hopkins and Emma Thompson, but felt like I should read it first. The prose is really lovely and it’s slow moving in the absolute best way.

On our roadtrip to and from Colorado for Thanksgiving, we audiobooked Pride and Prejudice, The Hobbit, and a dramatized (unfortunately abridged) version of The Lord of the Rings. I really loved that while I was singing to Leo during one of his trapped-in-carseat-induced meltdowns, Joe kept shushing me and rewinding P&P so that he could hear the final proposal. He was bewitched. #bodyandsoul.

And I just finished the Village Diary, the second book in the Fairacre series by Miss Read, which is always the lovely rural village life escape I’m looking for.

2. All the Light We Cannot See for my Well Read Mom book club. I didn’t absolutely love this one. I think I liked the synopsis more than the actual book. I listened to a lot of it on audiobook and it made me highly aware of how much I skim when I read and miss good chunks of detail. But Doerr writes with a stuccato like details one after another and I wasn’t keen on feeling trapped into listening to every one. And also, I haaaated that it was written in present tense. I have a weakness of defaulting to cynicism with a lot of contemporary fiction. However, I’m trying to be better about it, so I picked up Trains and Lovers today in hopes of being pleasantly surprised.

3. How the Urgency of Motherhood Made me a Writer

“Writing isn’t: where I pour most of my time and energy; the first or only way I define myself; an escape plan in case my marriage fails; or the life I would rather be living. Writing is: a means of strengthening my critical thinking while also demanding my emotional authenticity and presence; a practice that can bend and flex around the needs of the care-work I do for my family; an outlet in which to pursue excellence; and a means of connecting with others in conversations that are meaningful to me.”

Eating

4. Leo’s iron test came back and he’s slightly anemic, so I’ve been trying to incorporate more iron into his diet which mainly means I’ve gone crazy town on spinach. We’ve done green smoothies, spinach quiche, falafel (delicious with these marakesh carrots), spinach-feta yogurt dip, and spinach-walnut pesto.

7. A lot of non-penitential things after I announced my intention to eat semi-penitentially during Advent. Specifically, chicken gratin which was one of those meals that’s on a higher plane than most meals and orange French yogurt cake. I just know it would have been grand with cointreau-spiked coffee and whipped cream but I fought that non-penitential craving nobly.

Et cetera

6. I watched all of Gilmore Girls and overall, I was fan! But here are some specific things I loved and hated:

Loved:

  • That Stars Hollow charm: the old things and the new. The picnic basket auction, Petal the pig, the secret bar!
  • Emily Gilmore–utterly magnificent.
  • Lane and Zach and their kids and their band. Still going strong and I loved it.

Hated:

  • Rory. The worst as usual. Bad at relationships. Bad at journalism and professionalism. Bad at humility. I think, as Headmaster Charleston suggested, she should teach at Chilton. She’s the girl who made the Yale prospective student smell books in the library. Clearly, she just wants to share her love for learning with young minds.
  • Logan and his insufferable Life and Death Brigade friends.
  • That weird thirty-somethings gang they kept dragging out as a “funny” bit.
  • Rachael Ray. I have nothing against her. She just can’t act.
  • The Stars Hollow musical. It could have been funny-bad, but it was just bad-bad.

7. I have a date with A Cup of Jo’s beauty uniform series to research new hair products after getting told at my hair appointment yesterday, “You have beautiful hair but you don’t take care of it. Do you buy your products at the grocery store? There’s a lot of build up.” Mmm. Thanks. But yes to all of the above.

….

Happy Feast of St. Francis Xavier!

Reading, Eating, Et Cetera

3 thoughts on “Reading, Eating, Et Cetera

  1. The part about Joe and P&P! 😂 So sweet! On one of our first hangouts Neil told me that Pride and Prejudice was his favorite movie and I was quite intrigued.

    Also, I worked at a hair salon all through college and found lots of the same salon brands sold in the toiletries sections at Ross and TJ Maxx. Look for ones by Alterna, Wella, Goldwell, and other big names. Stylists are right about fancy shampoo, but its crazy expensive at salons!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

