Staying afloat

21246504_1406867916015293_2501985878302043210_o

I’m back! Sort of. You probably already know, but in case you don’t and are wondering why I dropped off the face of blogland for the past two months, we just weathered a hurricane, moved into a new house, and welcomed a new baby. Whew.

I do have loads of drafts for posts in varying states of doneness, and even though I’m the slowest of bloggers in normal circumstances, I am itching to get back into this space that helps me get the frazzled, stream-of-consciousness bunch of thoughts that bombard me all day teased out and a bit more composed.

But having two under two is no joke and situations like dragging my soot-covered toddler out of the fireplace with one arm while carrying and nursing my newborn in the other are a daily occurrence.

I remind myself over and over what good problems I have. That books and tupperware and pots and pans and clothes strewn everywhere are a sign of curious, energetic toddler life. That battling mini-existential crises on a daily basis is a sign of being conscious of what fragile beauty is in my care. That the guilt over all my yelling from being constantly overwhelmed is a way God calls me to turn to Him and admit that I can’t do this without His grace.

So it may be a while yet before I’m posting here again…and if you want to say a Hail Mary or ten on my behalf, bless you.

Staying afloat

2 thoughts on “Staying afloat

  1. Margaret says:

    “But having two under two is no joke and situations like dragging my soot-covered toddler out of the fireplace with one arm while carrying and nursing my newborn in the other are a daily occurrence.” Why I just walled off our fireplace as part of our wall repairs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

